and the Child Welfare Board is both advisory and administrative, being responsible for the administration of the Child Welfare Act.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health has been organized since 1923 under a Minister and a Deputy Minister. The Public Health Act of Saskatchewan also provides for a Public Health Council, consisting of the Deputy Minister as Chairman, three medical practitioners, a veterinary surgeon and a civil engineer. This Council acts in an advisory capacity to consider new health regulations and allied problems.

The Department is organized into seven Divisions. The Division of Administration, directly under the Deputy Minister who is also the Registrar General, coordinates the activities of the Department as a whole, directs the general policy in public health matters, supervises finances, legislation, hospital grants, municipal boards of health, and medical relief in certain unorganized territories. The Division of Public Health Nursing supervises maternity grants, organizes inspection of school children and home visits, pre-school and preventive clinics in co-operation with local physicians and conducts a public health nursing service throughout the province. The Division of Communicable Disease deals with epidemiology in all its phases and administers the regulations governing cemeteries and care and trans-Supervision of trachoma, venereal disease, and tuberculosis portation of the dead. (other than the organization of the Anti-Tuberculosis League) also comes under The Division of Sanitation supervises food, water, milk, and ice this Division. supplies, sewerage systems, urban and rural sanitation, and the organization of union hospital districts. The Division of Laboratories includes in its organization bacteriology, serology, pathology, chemical analyses, and medico-legal work. The Office of the Registrar General (formerly the Division of Vital Statistics) administers the Vital Statistics Act and the Marriage Act. The system used in classifying vital statistics has been decided upon in co-operation with other provinces and the Dominion Bureau of Statistics. The Mental Hygiene Act and the mental institutions established under its provisions in North Battleford, Weyburn, and Regina (psychopathic ward), are administered by the Department, and the internal operations of these institutions are supervised by the Commissioner of Mental Services.

Union Hospitals.—In Saskatchewan, in addition to the general hospitals, there exists a system known as the Union Hospital Organization, designed to furnish hospital accommodation in rural districts. Under the provisions of this plan, two or more municipalities may co-operate in building, equipping, and maintaining a hospital. Municipalities constituting a hospital district may enter into an agreement with the hospital board to provide free treatment for certain classes of patients at the cost of the municipalities concerned.

Cancer Commission.—This Commission, created in 1930, consists of the Deputy Minister of Public Health as Chairman, together with two physicians as members and a physician as secretary. Consultative diagnostic and treatment clinics have been established in Regina and Saskatoon, and radon is manufactured at an emanation plant in Saskatoon. Close contact is maintained with current advances in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cancer.

Health Services Board.—This Board consists of the Deputy Minister as Chairman, a representative of the provincial College of Physicians and Surgeons and a representative of the Association of Rural Municipalities. The Board is inquiring into the extent and administration of the various health services existing in the province, collecting and studying data on the general situation regarding incidence